Home Issues Candidates Recent Grid Archive Senate VoteMatch_Quiz
 Notebooks:   |   Bill   Sponsorships   Policy   Reports   Memberships/   Affiliations   Group   Ratings   Court   Rulings   Congressional   Surveys 

Bill Sponsorships
Policy Reports
Memberships / Affiliations
Group Ratings
Court Rulings
Senate Surveys

Bill Sponsorships:
Congressional bills 2011-2012
Congressional bills 2009-2010
2008 Presidential Contenders' bills
Congressional bills 1998-2008
2010 Senate signature bills
2008 Senate signature bills
2008 Presidential signature bills
Pres. Barack Obama's Senate signature bills
V.P. Joe Biden's Senate signature bills
Rep. Ron Paul's House signature bills
Sen. John McCain's Senate signature bills
Sen. Hillary Clinton's Senate signature bills

Congressional memberships 2012
Congressional memberships 2001-2011
112th Congress Committees
Congressional Caucuses
Congressional Group Ratings

Surveys: Collection of all surveys in one summary.
2012 Project Vote Smart
2012 Christian Coalition voter guide
2010 Christian Coalition voter guide
2010 Faith2Action.org voter guide
2010 Project Vote Smart
Contract From America
Contract With America

Reports & Letters:
Governmental Reports
Resolutions 2011
Letters 2011
Supreme Court Rulings
Supreme Court 2011:

2008 Presidential
2004 Presidential
2000 Presidential
2008 Issues
2004 Issues
2000 Issues

Senate Votes:
Through 2011
Through 2009
Through 2007
Through 2003

House Votes:
Through 2011


    This page contains bills sponsored by presidential contenders. Bill sponsorships indicate the topics that legislators are most interested in, and spend the most time on.

07-S1711 on Jun 27, 2007

Legislation by 2008 Presidential Candidates: ending harsher sentencing for crack vs. powder cocaine
Source: Drug Sentencing Reform & Kingpin Trafficking Act (S.1711)
A bill to target cocaine kingpins and address sentencing disparity between crack and powder cocaine.

Sponsor's introductory remarks: Sen. Biden: My bill will eliminate the current 100-to-1 disparity [between sentencing for crack vs. powder cocaine] by increasing the 5-year mandatory minimum threshold quantity for crack cocaine to 500 grams, from 5 grams, and the 10-year threshold quantity to 5,000 grams, from 50 grams, while maintaining the current statutory mandatory minimum threshold quantities for powder cocaine. It will also eliminate the current 5-year mandatory minimum penalty for simple possession of crack cocaine, the only mandatory minimum sentence for simple possession of a drug by a first time offender.

Drug use is a serious problem, and I have long supported strong antidrug legislation. But in addition to being tough, our drug laws should be rational and fair. My bill achieves the right balance. We have talked about the need to address this cocaine sentencing disparity for long enough. It is time to act.

Congressional Summary:

    Increases the amount of a controlled substance or mixture containing a cocaine base (i.e., crack cocaine) required for the imposition of mandatory minimum prison terms for crack cocaine trafficking to eliminate the sentencing disparity between crack and powder cocaine.
  • Eliminates the five-year mandatory minimum prison term for first-time possession of crack cocaine.
  • Increases monetary penalties for drug trafficking and for the importation and exportation of controlled substances.
Related bills: H.R.79, H.R.460, H.R.4545, S.1383, S.1685.

    Participating counts on VoteMatch question 19. Question 19: Never legalize marijuana Scores: -2=Strongly oppose; -1=Oppose; 0=neutral; 1=Support; 2=Strongly support.
  • Topic: Drugs
  • Headline: End harsher sentencing for crack vs. powder cocaine (Score: -1)
  • Headline 2: End harsher sentencing for crack vs. powder cocaine (Score: -1)

  • Key for participation codes:
  • Sponsorships: p=sponsored; o=co-sponsored; s=signed
  • Memberships: c=chair; m=member; e=endorsed; f=profiled; s=scored
  • Resolutions: i=introduced; w=wrote; a=adopted
  • Cases: w=wrote; j=joined; d=dissented; c=concurred
  • Surveys: '+' supports; '-' opposes.

Democrats participating in 07-S1711

Sanford Bishop s2oGeorgia Democrat 
Robert Brady s2oPennsylvania Democrat 
Corrine Brown s2oFlorida Democrat 
G.K. Butterfield s2oNorth Carolina Democrat 
Yvette Clarke s2oNew York Democrat 
William Lacy Clay s2oMissouri Democrat 
Hillary Clinton s2oNY Former Democratic Senator (NY); now Secretary of State 
James Clyburn s2oSouth Carolina Democrat 
Steve Cohen s2oTennessee Democrat 
Elijah Cummings s2oMaryland Democrat 
Danny Davis s2oIllinois Democrat 
Chris Dodd s2oCT Democratic Sr Senator (retiring 2010) 
Richard Durbin s2oIL Democratic Sr Senator 
Keith Ellison s2oMinnesota Democrat 
Chaka Fattah s2oPennsylvania Democrat 
Russell Feingold s2oPOTUS Democrat 
Bob Filner s2oCalifornia Democrat (Mayoral run 2011) 
Barney Frank s2oMassachusetts Democrat (Retiring 2012) 
Charles Gonzalez s2oTexas Democrat (Retiring 2012) 
Al Green s2oTexas Democrat 
Raul Grijalva s2oArizona Democrat 
Luis Gutierrez s2oIllinois Democrat 
Alcee Hastings s2oFlorida Democrat 
Mike Honda s2oCalifornia Democrat 
Jesse Louis Jackson s2oIllinois Democrat (Resgined 2013) 
Sheila Jackson Lee s1iTexas Democrat 
William Jefferson s2oLouisiana Democrat 
Hank Johnson s2oGeorgia Democrat 
Stephanie Tubbs Jones s2oOhio Former Dem. (Deceased, 2008) 
John Kerry s2oMA Democratic Sr Senator 
Carolyn Kilpatrick s2oMichigan Democrat (until 2010) 
Barbara Lee s2oCalifornia Democrat 
Carl Levin s2oMI Democratic Sr Senator (retiring 2014) 
John Lewis s2oGeorgia Democrat 
Gregory Meeks s2oNew York Dem./Working-Families 
Gwen Moore s2oWisconsin Democrat 
Eleanor Holmes Norton s2oDistrict of Columbia Democrat 
Barack Obama s2oIL Former Democratic Senator (until 2008) 
Ed Pastor s2oArizona Democrat 
Donald Payne s2oNew Jersey Former Democrat(Deceased 2012) 
Bobby Rush s2oIllinois Democrat 
David Scott s2oGeorgia Democrat 
Jose Serrano s2oNew York Democrat/Liberal 
Pete Stark s2oCalifornia Democrat 
Bennie Thompson s2oMississippi Democrat 
Ed Towns s2oNew York Democrat/Liberal (Retiring) 
Diane Watson s2oCalifornia Former Democrat (until 2010) 
Albert Wynn s2oMaryland Democrat (Unseated 2008) 

Republicans participating in 07-S1711

Christopher Shays s2oConnecticut Republican (Unseated 2008) 

Independents participating in 07-S1711

Joe Biden s1iDE Vice President 
Donna Christensen s2oVirgin Islands - 

Total recorded by OnTheIssues:

Democrats: 48
Republicans: 1
Independents: 2

Reproduction of material from any OnTheIssues.org pages without written permission is prohibited.
Copyright © 1999-2022 Jesse Gordon and OnTheIssues.org , all rights reserved.
OnTheIssues.org 1770 Massachusetts Ave. #630, Cambridge MA 02140

E-mail us at:submit at OnTheIssues.org
(Editorial staff, for news and corrections)
Business information (Dr. Naomi Lichtenberg, for partnerships and advertising)
Political information (Jesse Gordon, for content and technical matters)
About Us (We report about campaigns; please don't write us if you want to reach any campaign!)
  Newsletter     Signup  
Or click for More Info.